We’re here to help. Take a look below at some common questions. Still have questions? Contact our National Office via email (info@forensic.org) or phone at 312.981.6780.

What is the CFLC credential?

The Certified Forensic Litigation Consultant (CFLC) credential was created in 2014 for qualified expert witnesses and forensic consultants. The CFLC is granted exclusively to FEWA Professional Members who have met the eligibility criteria established requiring significant participation in FEWA activities and completion of education courses in the subjects of forensic analysis, litigation consulting and expert witnessing.

Who can become a CFLC Certificant

FEWA Professional Members in good standing that meet the minimum requirements can apply to become a CFLC.

Why should I apply for the CFLC credential?

The CFLC credential provides the following benefits:

  • Promotes a greater level of confidence for clients and employers
  • Enhances the credential holder's industry recognition as an educated and committed forensic consultant
  • Positions the credential holder ahead of fellow experts in the same discipline without the credential 
  • Demonstrates the credential holder's passion and commitment for improvement in forensic consulting
  • Increases opportunities for leads, referrals, and assignments

What are the requirements for the CFLC credential?

New applicants for the CFLC credential must: 

  • Be a FEWA Professional Member in good standing
  • Fill out the CFLC Application
  • Meet the minimum 30 points requirement for participation, achieved within the last 5 years
  • Meet the minimum 30 points requirement for education, achieved within the last 5 years
  • Take and pass the required CFLC exam 

Are there any fees to apply to become a CFLC Certificant?

Application fees for the CFLC credential include: 

  • $50 non-refundable application review fee
  • $50 exam administration fee
  • $295 3-year recertification fee

How long is the CFLC credential valid for?

The CFLC credential is valid for 3 years. 

How long does it take to become a CFLC Certificant?

Once your application is received, the National Office will contact you with next steps to take the required online CFLC exam. You must then take and pass the CFLC exam with a score of 70% or better in order to continue your application. 

The National Office will conduct an initial internal review of your application. If no discrepancies are found, your application will be sent to your Chapter President for endorsement. After endorsement at the local level, your application is then reviewed by the FEWA Credentialing Committee. Finally, if approved by the Credentialing Committee, your application will be presented at the next National Board of Directors meeting for final approval. 

What is the CFLC exam? 

The CFLC exam was developed by the FEWA Credentialing Committee to test experts on the CFLC Core Program. CFLC applicants must take and pass the online exam in order to be certified. The exam is 60 questions and requires a score of at least 70% to pass. Applicants can take the exam an indefinite number of times until a passing score is achieved. The online exam can be taken at the convenience of your office or home.

How do I register to take the CFLC exam? 

Upon submitting your completed application, the FEWA National Office will contact you with next steps for accessing and completing the exam. 

Once I pass the exam, what’s next?

Once you achieve a passing score of 70% or better on the required exam, the FEWA National Office will review your application and proceed with next reviewal steps. 

What happens if I don’t pass the exam?

 Applicants are allowed an indefinite number of attempts to pass the CFLC exam. If you do not score above the passing score of 70%, you are able to immediately re-take the exam or revisit at a different date. The FEWA National Office will be notified each time a new exam is started. 

Who are the current CLFC certificants?

You can find a list of current CFLC certificants here

How do I recertify my CFLC credential?

You can learn more about CLFC recertification requirements and procedures here